Tropical Dreamsicle Smoothies

Standard

Weather forecast for digintobooks this week: sweltering hot outside with frequent showers of ice cold drink recipes. When you’re out in the summer heat running, walking, playing with your kids, enjoying a game of tag, mowing the lawn, or whatever else you do when it’s this hot, I’ll be raining smoothies on you. All week.

Actually, not really. But I’ll be doing the next best thing: showing you tantalizing pictures of my latest cool drink concoctions and handing over the recipes so you can try them out for yourself. I figure that we all need a good frigid kick-off to summer with some icy recipes that we’ll be able to use over and over and over again as the summer months get hotter and hotter. Bring it on, sun.

I got the idea to do a week full of cold-drink concoctions while on a walk the other day. It wasn’t just any walk. I had already been out waterskiing in the morning, then swam for a while in the lake, and then caught some rays with a little nap out on the boat. After that, I ate a quick salad for lunch and then went on a walk. At 2:00 in the afternoon. On pavement. What was I thinking?

With heat waves shimmering off the road, beads of sweat dripping down my face, and my feet collecting small blisters, I started to do what anyone would do: see mirages of sapphire blue ponds, huge palm leaves to fan me, and creamsicles. Creamsicles? Yeah. I thought the same thing. See, I don’t even like creamsicles in real life. But in my state of utter desperation for anything cooler than a sun ray beating down on me, I started craving the creamy combination of vanilla ice cream and the sweet, citrusy notes of orange. I hustled (ahem, more like trudged up the super-steep hill) to get home and find myself something to drink. Enter tropical dreamsicle smoothies.

I beg you to make yourself one of these. Trust me, while drinking it you’ll be transported to your mirage location: white sandy beaches that never get too hot, a dazzling turquoise pool, palm trees swaying in a warm breeze, and those palm leaves that fan you whenever you need. You’ll forget that your face is beet red, your legs are quaking from climbing hills that might as well be 90 degree angles, and the fact that the roads are still shimmering with heat waves and will be long after the sun goes down. When you drink this smoothie, you’ll feel energized, refreshed, and way cooler than you did before you started chugging. So quick – freeze some fruit today and make this recipe as soon as you can!

Tropical Dreamsicle Smoothie
(recipe for one large smoothie or two small ones)
Ingredients
1/2 orange, peeled and sliced and frozen
1 banana, peeled and sliced and frozen
1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
4 oz vanilla yogurt (if vegan, try WholeSoy Vanilla yogurt or any other non-dairy brand)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
How To
1. I know I said this in the ingredients, but make sure you freeze your fruit. This way, you won’t have to use ice (which sometimes dilutes flavors) and you’ll get an extra creamy smoothie. Tips for freezing the fruit: for the banana, peel one and then slice into 1 inch rounds. Put the slices into a tupperware container and then freeze for 12 hours or more. You should be able to break apart the pieces before putting them into the blender. If not, let the slices sit at room temperature for about 5 or 10 minutes to let them soften up a little bit. For the orange, peel one and then peel into slices. You can freeze the orange in slices. Once you take it out of the freezer, I recommend using a very sharp knife to cut the segments into very small pieces so the blender has an easier time of blending them.
2. Put the fruit slices into the blender. Add all other ingredients. Blend until smooth. Serve and enjoy!
*Note: in some of the pictures you can see that I topped the smoothies with a little extra dollop of vanilla yogurt. Feel free to enjoy them plain or with a little extra dreaminess by topping the smoothies with vanilla yogurt. Either way, these smoothies are delicious!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mock Mojito Slushies « Dig Into Books

  2. Pingback: Snacker Day Saturday: 6/16 « Dig Into Books

Leave a Reply

