Snacker Day Saturday: 6/02

Standard

There’s nuttin’ butter than a cold treat on a hot day. In these summer months, everything starts tasting better frozen. Frozen grapes, frozen spiced orange slices, frozen popsicles. You name it, it’s almost always got a shot at tasting better frozen when the temperatures hit over 100. Well, we’re not quite to that temperature here yet, but I’m getting prepared. This means that my freezer right now is loaded with ice cream (typical), and some new little frozen friends that have joined the half-gallon staple of cookies and cream ice cream that resides there.

Did any of you watch the spelling bee the other night? If you did, maybe you caught my spelling mistake in the first paragraph (“nuttin’ butter” should be “nothing better”). Don’t worry, it was intentional but after watching the spelling bee the other night I feel like I am a crummy speller now. When I was in first grade I was entered into my school spelling bee and I got eliminated by spelling the word ‘salami’ wrong so maybe that’s one indication as to why I didn’t ever get entered into the national version of the contest. I couldn’t believe how talented the kids were who were competing!! I’m an English major in college and I can’t hold a flame to their spelling smarts! But nevertheless, my point in telling you this (longwinded, as always) is that I have a treat that is full of Nutter Butters. And cheesecake. And it’s bite sized. And frozen. Whew, it just gets better and better!

On this snacker day Saturday, I bring to you a decadent bite of happiness that is guilt-free, bikini friendly, refreshing, and delicious. And, if you saw the pictures I posted yesterday, I have a use for the leftover cheesecake pudding that you might have on hand. This is one of the least homemade desserts I’ve ever made but that’s alright by me.  It’s simple, versatile, and could be used as a cute party dessert when company is over or just to have on hand in the freezer in case a bad day strikes and you just really need a piece of cheesecake to put a smile back on. There’s really nuttin’ butter than that!

Nuttin’ Butter than Cheesecake Bites
Ingredients
1 snack-package of mini Nutter Butters
1 package fat-free, sugar-free cheesecake pudding mix
1 1/2 cups skim milk
How To
1. Without cracking open the Nutter Butters, use your hands to smash up the cookies while they’re still in the bag. Crush them up as fine as you can.
2. Set out a mini muffin tin and put a liner in each. Then, dump the cookies so they are equally dispersed.
3. Make the pudding by combining the pudding powder with the milk. Whisk for about 2 minutes. It should be extra thick.
4. Scoop pudding into mini-muffin tins and smooth the pudding down. Put the muffin tin in the freezer and wait for the pudding to harden. Then, take out a mini-treat as often as your heart desires and bite into a rich, flavorful snack!

Problem: you have extra cheesecake pudding and not enough muffin tins to hold it all.
Solution: grab a few mini Chips Ahoy cookies and gently smash the pudding between two cookies. Bam. Instant itsy bitsy whoopie pies!

Variations: you could pretty much use any flavor of pudding and any “crust” to make these desserts. Use what you have on hand (or have a hankering for) and get creative! Oreo crust with vanilla pudding? Graham cracker crust with butterscotch pudding? Vanilla wafers with banana pudding? I could go on and on and on. What are some of your great ideas for these little treats? Another suggestion: make a bunch of different kinds and then serve them to guests as a sort of tasting party for dessert! I think I might have to try that sometime soon!

Hope you enjoy these little cheesecake bites. I certainly am. A perfect pairing with a snack as luxurious as this one? How about reading this blog. I came across it yesterday and think it’s one of the coolest blogs I’ve seen out there. Two friends contribute their greatest talents (creativity in photography and writing) to produce a blog about making delicious food, photographing it, and telling a story about it or related to it. It’s a fresh take on food, writing, and the two elements combined. Plus, the photography and writing are both gorgeous so I urge you to take a little time while you’re snacking to check the blog out!

Have a great snacker day Saturday! See you soon with a recipe for creamy pie that’ll make you swoon.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

