The Hunger Games Meringues

Standard

The moment summer hit, I sat myself down and read The Hunger Games. More specifically, I walked out of my last class of the year, sat down on a bike in the gym, and read until I’d finished the last page and my legs felt like they were about to fall off (totally worth it). After another year full of heavy literature, interpreting single words in the middle of poems, and deducing the meanings of every last detail in historic novels and short stories, I felt I owed it to myself to read something that takes nearly no brain power.

Enter The Hunger Games. Enter addiction. Enter references to Katniss, Gale, Peeta, and Prim into my daily life. I bought the second and third books of the series on a trip to Barnes and Noble (where I also purchased a huge stack of books for literature research I’m doing this summer) and I haven’t stopped reading since.

Today I got the urge to bake and it should come as no surprise that I made something related to The Hunger Games. Since meringues are pretty easy to make, a summery treat, and versatile, I knew that somehow I could adapt them into a Hunger Games related dessert. Here’s what I came up with.

All of you Hunger Games fanatics will probably know what these meringues refer to. Remember Rue? Of course you do. And I made lemon-infused meringues shaped like little yellow flowers in reference to her. Even if you don’t read the books, these light cookies are perfect for any summer events you may have planned.

Especially if you have beautiful farm-fresh eggs given to you by a neighbor just pestering you to use them up.
While I get back to finishing the third book of the series (I can’t believe I’m almost finished with them), feel free to whip these up and snack on them while reading some fun summer books, or share them with a crowd.

The Hunger Games Meringues
Ingredients
3 egg whites
1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon lemon juice
15 drops yellow food coloring

How To
1. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with wax paper.
2. Using your chilled beater and large bowl (just like I explained in my meringue post) beat egg whites, salt and cream of tartar on medium-high until white and foamy (about one minute). With mixer still running, add sugar in 3 additions (beat for 2 minutes between each addition). After the last addition, beat another 2 minutes until stiff peaks form.

3. Add powdered sugar, vanilla extract, lemon juice, and food coloring. Beat to blend (about 1 minute).
4.  Scoop the meringue into a large freezer bag (try not to stir or mix as you’re scooping) and cut a 1/4 inch hole at the corner of the bag. Pipe 1 inch meringues onto a baking sheet. If you want to try to make them look like small yellow flowers, gently pattern 4-5 small petals and then pipe a small amount of meringue into the center of the petals.

5. Bake at 250 for 45 minutes. Turn off the oven after 45 minutes and let the meringues sit in the oven for at least another 45 minutes (important: DO NOT open oven at all during this time). Remove meringues from oven and let them cool. Then serve and enjoy!

Coming up later this week is a restaurant review about a swanky venue in midtown Tulsa, and a book review that’ll have you running out to a book store to pick it up! Hope you have a great start to your week!

2 responses »

  1. FINALLY!!! MY FAVORITE BLOGGER IS BACK! I looove this photoshoot, the flowers and the grass just scream natural beauty!!! I almost thought that those were growing out of the ground. I’m glad you still gotcho bake on grrrrrrl.

    • I decided to follow in the footsteps of our girl Angela and take a break from blogging the past two weeks (maybe because I wanted to bask in the company of my best friends while I had them), but now that Katniss is my best friend (and now she’s gone too) I’m back at it! Love you and miss you!! I’m making something for dinner tonight that you will LOVE (and blogging about it soon)!

Leave a Reply

