Hummus, Three Ways!

Standard

When I love foods, I love them to the extreme. Take ice cream, for example. A few years back I ate almost two 1.5-quarts of Edy’s ice cream in order to win an ice cream eating competition. I ate my first tub in 12 minutes and then painfully made my way through the second tub which was cookies n’ cream flavored. Trust me, I love cookies n’ cream but I’d probably had well over 100 grams of sugar at that point and it was just too sweet. After the contest was over, I had goosebumps for about three hours afterwards, and rolled around the floor trying to make my stomach feel better. Even though I felt so sick, I managed to eat normally all of the next day and even went out for ice cream two days later.

Another example of my love of specific foods: frosting. It was on my list of life goals to eat an entire container of Betty Crocker frosting so my mom caved and let me and my brother each have a container to ourselves. We sat down with spoons in hand and I achieved my dream. My brother couldn’t finish his container so I ate the last half of his as well. Twenty minutes later, the Wheel of Fortune turned into the most hilarious show we had ever seen.

Other foods I’ve loved excessively over the years: Ritz crackers, olives, pickles, mangoes, baby carrots, and zucchinis. More recently I’ve fallen in love with sweet potatoes, seaweed salad, popcorn,  lemon-tahini dressing, Brussel sprouts, and Greek yogurt. Now you’re probably wondering, what does all of this have to do with what I’m sharing today?

I’ve got another food in my life that I can’t seem to get enough of: hummus. I love it on sandwiches, as a topping on my salads, and using it as a dip for my beloved baby carrot sticks. I buy a ton of it from our local co-op, so much that I go through a container of it within 48 hours of buying the stuff.

I’ve constantly seen recipes for hummus around the internet that look delectable and oh-so-easy to make. So, last time I was at the co-op I bought a can of garbanzo beans rather than my usual little tub of hummus. I made three different kinds and I’ve been dipping everything in ever since. I’m happy with how they turned out which is why I’m sharing my humble little recipes with you today! If you love hummus as much as I do – or even just want to try a new flavor – go ahead and give these a go!

Hummus, three ways
(Tumeric-garlic / Cilantro  and Green Onion / Ginger and Soy Sauce)

Ingredients

For the plain hummus:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 can of garbanzo beans (drain the beans and reserve the liquid)

1 tablespoon tahini

1/2 cup reserved garbanzo bean liquid

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

For the tumeric-garlic:

1 teaspoon tumeric

1/2 tablespoon garlic

For the cilantro and green onion:

1 teaspoon cilantro paste or one tablespoon chopped, fresh cilantro

Two small green onions, finely chopped

For the ginger and soy sauce:

1 teaspoon minced ginger

1 teaspoon soy sauce (or one and a half teaspoons), to taste

How To
These instructions might appear complicated, but here’s what we’re up to: basically you’re going to make a batch of plain hummus and then after following those instructions, simply split the plain hummus into three batches and then add the different ingredients to each different batch to make the three flavors. Here we go!

1. Pour the olive oil into a small skillet. Then, pour the beans in and heat over medium heat. Stir them so that the bottom beans don’t burn. Cook the beans until they are golden brown.

2. Put the beans into a food processor. Add the salt, pepper, and tahini. Blend this mixture.

3. After blending the beans, examine the consistency. Little by little, add the 1/2 cup of reserved garbanzo bean juice from the can until the hummus reaches a creamy texture.

4. Separate the hummus into three small bowls. Next, add each set of ingredients to each different plain hummus batch. Mix them really well and then they are ready to dive into!


From left to right: tumeric-garlic / cilantro green onion / ginger soy-sauce

Well, I hope you enjoy these different hummus recipes! They are PACKED with flavor and are a great accompaniment to a lot of different snack foods. However, although these hummus recipes might pair perfectly with baby carrots and crackers, I’ve got a recipe tomorrow for Snacker Day Saturday that will act as the perfect vessel to these hummus flavors.

Be sure to check back tomorrow for this…

and in the meantime, have a fun-filled Friday!!!

Leave a Reply

