Back from Peru!

Standard

I am so excited to be back from Peru and share some of my experiences. Overall, the trip was absolutely amazing!! We experienced numerous places throughout Peru including Lima, Cuzco, Arequipa, Colca Canyon, Lake Titicaca, the Nazca Lines, the Ballestas islands, and more-all by bus! Yes, that means we were on the bus a lot! Good thing I love long car rides! Plus, we got to see so much beautiful scenery on all of our bus rides. And to top off the bus rides, we had a llama on our bus at one point! How cool is that?

Ronald with his pet llama Misti.

 Seeing a llama on our bus was one of the highlights of the trip for sure. But there were sooo many wonderful memories made that it is hard to pick a favorite. In quick phrases, here are some other memories from the trip that really stand out in my mind: swimming in the most beautiful cove in the ocean, seeing a huge sealion sleeping on the rocks, hiking in the Colca Canyon, our homestay at the highest navigable lake in the world (Lake Titicaca), playing a soccer game against the locals at a soccer field that overlooked the ocean, holding a three day old llama in my arms, rowing a boat made entirely out of reeds, running around a temple on top of a mountain three times in order to make a wish, dressing up in the beautiful bright clothing of the Uros Islands, sledding down giant sand dunes (pretty much amped me up as much as 10 cups of coffee…), and exploring all of the colorful cities that we drove through. The best part about these memories? They were made with a collection of new friends in one of the most breathtaking places that I have ever been to.

Here are some pictures to help you visualize where I was…

I could talk on and on about what a great experience Peru was, but I’ll leave you with that today. I hope some of you noticed that something HUGE is missing from my summary of Peru. I talked about the gorgeous scenery that ranged from snow-capped volcanoes to sandy beaches to barren deserts to lush canyons and about the beauty and warmth of the people with their vibrant clothing and smiles, and about the fun activities that I got to do which included hiking and dune-buggying and playing with animals. So, what’s missing? FOOD! I am so excited to share all about my eating experiences with you because the food in Peru may just rival every other incredible aspect of the country. It’s that good.

Again, I’m so excited to be back blogging and can’t wait to share more with you soon! Trust me, you’ll want to come back to check out the mouthwatering pictures of the dishes I took. I may just sneak a recipe in sometime soon as well…

Leave a Reply

