Comfort

Standard

Today it is gloomy and grey outside. It is a perfect day to snuggle up all day on the couch and watch Christmas movies or read good books (I seem to want to do this a lot…). But instead of curling up on the couch, I’ve been on the go all day. I went to the gym with my brother and mom (and am having a hard time walking as a result of excessive lunging) then to a dentist appointment and now I’m writing a ten page paper. Yuck.

What makes writing the ten pages worse is that it’s only 3 but it feels like nap time because it’s so dark outside. I’m sure you’ve had days like these!

So I came up with a cure for the dreary weather. Comfort food. What could be better? My mom has been making a Mexican Gumbo Soup in the slow-cooker all day and it’s been tempting me since early this morning. I decided to attempt to make something I never have before: cornbread. But of course, I had to make it myself and not really follow a recipe and add a bunch of ingredients. So in my state of comfort-craving and paper-procrastination, I added every ingredient in the fridge that might make the bread even more enticing: bacon, cheese, butter. I usually don’t touch these ingredients but maybe being back in the South is getting to my head because today they sounded delicious. The bread tastes pretty good (but now I’m fresh out of things to do to procrastinate writing my paper and I’m even more excited for dinner than I already was). We’ll see how everyone else likes it later. I for one am ready to slather some butter on my corn bread and sit down with my family to a warming soup.

Hope your day has been more full of sunshine than mine! (Or snow if it’s gonna be this grey out there). Enjoy the comfort of a hearty slice of cornbread and let me know what you think of it.

Bacon-Cheddar Cornbread

Ingredients

2 cups corn meal

1 cup milk

1 egg

4 tablespoons butter

3 slices bacon (2 crumbled, mixed into batter/1 crumbled on top of cornbread)

1/4 cup cheese (mixed into batter)

1/2 tablespoon cheese (sprinkled on top of cornbread)

1/2 teaspoon pepper (sprinkled on top of cornbread)

1/2 teaspoon paprika (sprinkled on top of cornbread)

How To

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lightly grease an 8×8 casserole pan (or a bread pan, or muffin tins…whatever you’d like to use). Set aside.

2. Pour corn meal into large mixing bowl. Add milk, butter, and egg. Beat for about one minute or until all ingredients are evenly mixed. Add bacon pieces and cheese and mix well.

3. Pour mixture into casserole pan. Pat down and disperse evenly. Sprinkle bacon, cheese and spices on top of the batter. Put into oven for 15-20 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

