Planes, cars, and new donut pans

Standard
Planes, cars, and new donut pans

Alright, so the first two are pretty self-explanatory. Said goodbye to my friends at school. Said goodbye to my grandparents at the airport. Got on a plane. Came home. I LOVE being home! I miss my friends and apartment a lot but there’s nothing like waking up to Mom’s homemade oatmeal cake and a furry little five pound dog that wants to curl up on my lap and a day schedule that has NOTHING written all over it. It’s been a while since I could just sleep in, lounge around in my pj’s, turn on the tv for hours and sit on the couch. These are all things I see myself doing today.

Donut pans. We had Christmas in our apartment before we left. It was great having all of my friends around our tiny, Charlie-Brown Christmas tree, giving each other gifts from the heart. Which is where the donut pan comes in. After all the presents were unwrapped, we decided to cap off the night with a test-run of some homemade donuts. Yum.

I’ve told you before that I’m not the best baker (cough, cough…I’m still not really sure why baking soda is necessary or what the stuff even is) but I made up my own donut recipe! And they were DELICIOUS! Let’s just say that maybe the magic of Christmas was with me while I was making the donuts because honestly, I don’t know how they turned out so perfectly. I hope that this post leads you to buy a donut pan (for yourself or someone else) and then impulsively try out this recipe at maybe ten o’clock at night with your best friends. Because that’s when donuts taste best. Oh, and turn on some Christmas tunes and plug in a string of lights to make the experience extra-special. Enjoy! 🙂

 

Apple Cider Pumpkin Donuts

Ingredients (makes 6 donuts)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/3 cup almond milk

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup apple cider

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

How To

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Now most recipe sites are going to tell you to mix dry and wet ingredients in separate bowls and then gently fold in one set of ingredients to the other or something like that. But not here. In my recipe, all ingredients get added to one big bowl where they happily meet one another and get mixed into a delicious tasting batter. So go ahead, just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and mix them up!

3. Lightly grease donut pan (I sprayed mine with coconut oil) and then scoop the batter into the compartments. Ideally, each donut-compartment should be about 2/3 full, but if they are a little more or less full, don’t sweat it. A donut’s a donut.

4. Once your pan is filled to the brim with yummy, donut-deliciousness, pop the pan into the preheated oven for 15 minutes. Take donuts out of oven, carefully take them out of the pan, and then eat to your heart’s content.

Note: I whipped up a quick chocolate glaze to drizzle on top of these, but I didn’t write down the amounts used of any of the ingredients. Next time I’ll measure so I can share the goodness!

3 responses »

  1. Apple cider and sugar, that sounds like maple syrup to me!!! Mwahahaha
    These turned out SOO delicious, I hope you’re making some more delicious donuts in the future!!

  2. Pingback: Breakfast = Brain Power « Dig Into Books

Leave a Reply

