Coffee Infused Sweet Potato Casserole

Standard

That’s right, I said it. Coffee and sweet potatoes baked in the same casserole dish together. Why I haven’t had this before is a mystery to me. Maybe it’s just because it’s exam time, or maybe it’s because I’m really lovin’ on coffee these days, but no matter the reason, I had a cup of coffee and I was going to use it for something. Don’t worry, I drank most of it myself (trust me, I need caffeine pick-me-ups this week) but I reserved 4 tablespoons of it to make something special.

And boy was it good. If you love sweet potatoes, brown sugar, pecans, and even just love the smell of coffee, please go ahead and make this for yourself. It’s delicious enough to be a dessert, a blow-your-main-dish-outta-the-water kind of side, or a snack. Also, it would be a great twist on the traditional sweet potato casserole you may serve at Christmas (hint, hint: you might want to try this recipe before Christmas so you can incorporate it into your roster of delicious food). So without further ado, here’s my recipe!

Sweet Potato Coffee Casserole (note, this serves 1 so alter the ingredient quantities as necessary)

Ingredients

(For Casserole)

1 sweet potato

4 tablespoons coffee

1 tablespoon vanilla almond milk (or whatever milk you’ve got on hand)

1 teaspoon brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

(For Topping)

2 tablespoons pecans

1 tablespoon raisins

How To

1. Cut your potato into quarters. Fill a pot with water, set stovetop to medium-high and then put potatoes in the pot. Let them boil for 25 minutes (or until soft enough to slice with a fork). Make sure you keep checking them because you don’t want the sweet potatoes to get too soft. Tip: If you’re in a HUGE rush and don’t mind sacrificing the consistency of the casserole a little bit, just puncture the skin of an uncooked sweet potato several times with a fork, wrap it in a paper towel and microwave for 3-5 minutes depending on the size of your potato.

2. Put potato pieces in a strainer and let drain for a couple of minutes. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  

3. Grab a medium sized bowl. Put potatoes in it and mash them up with a potato masher or a fork. I left the skins on in my casserole and I really enjoyed the texture and the added health benefits that they brought to the dish. However, if you’d like a smoother dish, go ahead and peel the potatoes before you mash.

4. After the potatoes are mashed, mix in all of the other casserole ingredients. Stir so that the ingredients are evenly dispersed. Put the potato mixture into a mini casserole pan (remember, the cute new one I got at Pier 1?). If you don’t have a casserole pan small enough for a task like this, try putting the sweet potato casserole into a muffin pan or scoop it into a bread tin.

5. Sprinkle pecans and raisins on top and then put the dish into the oven. Let the casserole bake for 15-20 minutes. At this point, the scent of coffee will be beckoning you to the oven. Let the casserole cool for a couple minutes and then dig in! I shared a few bites with my friends and they really enjoyed it. I hope you do too!

 

5 responses »

  1. I’m so excited to answer all the questions!

    What is my favorite coffee drink? Vanilla latte with soy milk (especially when infused with the love of my sweet BFF).

    What is my favorite sweet potato dish? This one now! I also really like mashed sweet potatoes with orange juice, and sweet potato fries.

    How is exam time going? I have been lucky to not be overwhelmed with work. I have a couple exams and a short paper, so it is manageable. But I’m also busy building a fort in my room and that takes both physical and emotional energy.

    How much do I love you?
    SO, SO, SO, SO MUCH!!!!!!

    • What was your question? I heard that.
      🙂
      Thanks for reading my blog! Glad you love the sweet potato casserole! I’m working on my coffee moat around your fort as we speak (not a fan of the fort you’re making). Love you more than that!!

Leave a Reply

