A Slice of Humble Pie

Standard

Actually, not just a slice. We’re making a whole pizza. The best part? You can eat the whole pizza yourself-the recipe is meant to serve one for dinner or serve 4-6 as a tasty appetizer. And this isn’t just any ordinary pizza. It’s got toppings that will fill your mouth with flavor. Unexpected textures and ingredients may just be good enough to make this your new favorite pizza. But I’m getting ahead of myself. This pizza is amazing.

So, what’s the catch?

You have to listen to me ramble on about humility for a little bit. Just a little bit, I promise. And even though I’m the one doing the rambling, I’m basing this post off of C.S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity. It’s a brilliant book – I have only read a segment of it for class but it is one of those books that I hope I have time to sit down and read sometime soon (like maybe even over Christmas break).

Humility is an interesting concept, one I think that a lot of people struggle with without even knowing it. For example, what do you say to someone when they compliment you on a perfect batch of chocolate chip cookies? Do you say ‘thanks’? Do you say something like ‘oh, thanks, but they could be better’? Or something like, ‘you’re too nice-the ones you make are always better than mine’? I find that it’s hard to find a balance between being gracious when people compliment me on things that I take pride in and not being too humble or even negative towards things. Baking cookies is only an example of this – obviously there are a lot more areas of life that these concepts can be applied to.

Lewis helps us figure these tricky situations out. He advocates for humility in the sense that we as people should abandon all forms of excessive pride in ourselves. He says that pride is the greatest of all sins and that each man’s pride is constantly in “competition with every one else’s pride” (122). When we are in a state of competition or comparison with everyone and everything around us, how could we ever expect to be happy? This concept makes a lot of sense to me. I think that Lewis is tying to communicate that we should each be grateful for what we ourselves have, and not worry about other people all the time and whether or not they are ‘better’ or ‘worse’ than us. We are all people and in order to love one another and help one another in the most effective ways possible, we should all eat some big slices of humble pie and come back down to earth.

Before I share my recipe for a pizza humble in origin (the contents of a college kid’s fridge…), I’d like to leave you with a quote from C.S. Lewis that really hit home for me.

Do not imagine that if you meet a really humble man he will be what most people call ‘humble’ nowadays: he will not be a sort of greasy, smarmy person, who is always telling you that, of course, he is nobody. Probably all you will think about him is that he seemed a cheerful, intelligent chap who took a real interest in what you said to him. If you do dislike him it will be because you feel a little envious of anyone who seems to enjoy life so easily. He will not be thinking about humility: he will not be thinking about himself at all.

If anyone would like to acquire humility, I can, I think, tell him the first step. The first step is to realise that one is proud. And a biggish step, too. At least, nothing whatever can be done before it. If you think you are not conceited, it means you are very conceited indeed.” (128)

Humble Pizza Pie

Ingredients

1 wrap of choice, or tortilla (my favorite are original Flatout Wraps)

1/3 cup BBQ sauce

1/4 red onion, sliced

1/4 cup Brussels sprouts, halved or quartered depending on size

1/4 cup mushrooms, sliced

1/5 block of tofu

1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

1 teaspoon cilantro (or 1 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro)

How To

1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Grab a cookie sheet and spray lightly with pam or cooking oil. Set the wrap on top.

2. Spread BBQ sauce and cilantro on top of the wrap. Mix the cilantro  around so it’s evenly dispersed.

3. Chop all of the veggies and sprinkle them on. Next, cut tofu into small blocks and sprinkle on the pizza. Last, sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top of all the ingredients.

4. Pop the pizza into the oven for 10-14 minutes (depending on your oven) or until the crust is slightly brown, the cheese has fully melted, and the pizza looks delicious enough to eat in about three bites. Let it cool for a couple minutes and then cut into slices. Enjoy the healthful and delectable ingredients on your humble pie!

5 responses »

  1. I am so glad you posted this!!! I can’t wait to try it – but we should each make one at the same time because nobody will want to share!! The barbecue sauce sounds so delicious on pizza.

    Yum!

  2. THIS LOOKS AMAZING! I will definatly be trying this. However, I will have to use chicken because I am sadly allergic to tofu and all other soy products! 😦

    • Thanks, Kinley! And thanks for checking out my blog! It’s so fun to hear from you. I have so many fun memories of us from Alaska! 🙂 Let me know how it is if you try it- I think that chicken would be delicious!!

Leave a Reply

