ThankFULL

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I’m still feeling a little full from Thanksgiving. I’m full of good food, brimming with happiness from a good week filled with family, full of excitement to see my friends today and decorate for Christmas. Can you believe it? Christmas is coming up quickly!

But before I get ahead of myself and start babbling on about Christmas (or singing All I want For Christmas Is You…not that I’ve been singing it all year or anything!), I have an exciting announcement. I got a new book! My sweet, sweet grandparents bought me a book called Deadline Artists. I know, even the title sounds cool. It’s a compilation of America’s greatest newspaper columns. I’ve only had a chance to flip through it (blame that on the 30 page project, the set of 10 page papers, the novel I have to read, and the exam I’ve got Wednesday…) but it looks AMAZING! I can’t wait to dig into it.

So, in honor of my new book, I’m going to quote a little bit from an article in it titled ‘Article from Poor Richard’s Almanack’ by Benjamin Franklin that my grandma bookmarked for me so I could start learning some sayings. I figure the quotes will give me an opportunity to tell you a little bit about my Thanksgiving break and give you a GREAT new recipe for a delicious breakfast that will taste like dessert but is nutritional.

“Have you somewhat to do tomorrow, do it today.” The day before Thanksgiving, we cooked. What? The day before Thanksgiving? Yeah. My cousin made a beautiful, creamy pumpkin pie, my aunt made sweet potatoe casserole, artichoke dip, got the green bean casserole ingredients ready, and I made mashed potatoes and the topping for an apple crisp. Oh, and need I mention that on top of all of that, my aunt made homemade spaghetti sauce for us to top our pre-race pasta with? She’s superwoman in the kitchen! And I think Benjamin Franklin knew what he was talking about when he said this. We had so much to do on Thanksgiving that having some of the recipes completed was so helpful. So, note to self: do things before I have to.

“Lost time is never found again.” On Thanksgiving day, we each wrote down something that we were thankful for. My aunt wrote that she was thankful for the gift of time, and it’s something that really stuck with me. When I was with my family, I thought about how lucky I was to be able to spend a holiday with my aunt, uncle, cousins, and grandparents. Although my four days away from school kind of felt like a whirlwind, I tried to slow each moment down in my mind and cherish the time that I got to spend with each family member. I had some really special time with everyone and the niblets of genuine conversation that passed between all of us were far sweeter than the apple cider I drank with my meal. I think it’s a great idea to really concentrate on savoring each moment that happens in life. Benjamin Franklin really was onto something…

“The bird that sits, is easily shot.” Well, I certainly didn’t do too much sitting over Thanksgiving break. I went running almost every day, which was really enjoyable because I love breaking away from the same old runs and routines I get into here. We also did our traditional Turkey Trot which was a lot of fun. It was a 5 mile race and a beautiful morning to be out with 8,000 other runners! I always feel a little spark ignite inside me at the beginning of a road race because I love the feeling of community that they bring. Anyway, I was a busy bird: cooking, watching basketball games, running, putting up Christmas decorations, shopping, and dancing. I had a good time!

Before I bore you with too many quotes (even though I’m afraid it’s nearly impossible to be bored by Franklin’s compilation of quotes), I’ll share with you a delicious recipe that you can make for breakfast this week! Don’t worry-these are healthy, filling, and are definitely post-Thanksgiving worthy. If you’ve got any apple crisp lying around from Thanksgiving, use it for the topping instead of peeling fresh apple slivers.

An Apple a Day Tops Oatmeal the Right Way (and yes, I apologize for my lame attempt at making my recipe title a play on a saying, but I couldn’t resist)

Ingredients (Serves One)

1 Apple

1 Packet Oatmeal

1 Tablespoon Peanut Butter

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

How To

Peel the apple. After removing skin, use the peeler to slice the apple into slivers. Essentially, just keep ‘peeling’ the apple and save all of the peelings. These will be the toppings for the oatmeal cake. Next, pour the oatmeal into a bowl and cover with water. Microwave the mixture for 90 seconds, or until oatmeal attains a relatively thick consistency. Stir in the peanut butter and mix well. After, spray muffin tins with nonstick spray and then scoop oatmeal into muffin tins. Top each oatmeal  scoop with a hearty serving of apple peelings and then sprinkle the apples with cinnamon. Put the muffin tin in the oven at 375 degrees and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until oatmeal cakes have browned slightly on the edges and appear to be firm. Let them cool and then scoop them out of the muffin tins. Serve hot or cold, and top with Greek yogurt, honey, chocolate shavings, or peanut butter (or all of the above…).

As you spoon hearty oatmeal bites embellished with nutty notes of peanut butter and sweet apple shavings, I’d like you to think about this quote from the same article I’ve referenced above: “The noblest question in the world is, what good may I do in it?”

4 responses »

  1. Had a hard time with this new fangled email but finally got mail open.!!!!!
    Loved your blog and got the other you sent too. Love you Mammie and Poppa

  2. Hi!!! I met your brother Erik here in Missoula and he showed me your blog! I love to cook and it looks like you have some great recipes 🙂 I’m excited to read about what you come up with next!!

    • Thanks, Makenzie! I’m so happy you met Erik-I can’t wait to come up and visit sometime and meet all of his new friends. I like to experiment in the kitchen so we’ll see what happens! 🙂 Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

