I wouldn’t mind turning into a pumpkin eating this…

Standard

If you are what you eat, then I’m currently a great bundle of fall foods. I’d be a mix of a sweet potato, pumpkin, squash, Brussels sprouts, toast, Greek yogurt, and dark chocolate. Okay, so maybe not all of those are fall-specific items, but they sure do comprise most of my diet, or at least most of what I’m into right now. Ooh, I forgot to mention the homemade pizzas I’ve been making. More on those later. But for now, let’s get serious and talk pumpkin.

I have to admit that I’m a little jealous of Cinderella. No, not because she meets Prince Charming. And no, not because she has flocks of little woodland creatures that sing for her (although, that is REALLY cool). But I’m jealous of her because she’s got a giant pumpkin carriage. If I were her inside that carriage, I’d be nibbling away at that interior. Hopefully I’d have some pumpkin spice, peanut butter, Greek yogurt, honey and oatmeal with me. And yes, those might just be some of the ingredients in the great recipe I’ll share in just a few minutes.

But first, I said I’d talk about I and Thou again today, so I will.  So, you’re probably asking yourself, what the heck does Cinderella, Martin Buber and a delicious pumpkin concoction have in common? It’s possible I’m asking myself the same thing but I’m gonna go ahead and wing a response anyway, because I do have a couple ideas floating around. For one, Buber says that I shouldn’t be jealous of Cinderella, even if she does have the best pumpkin ever. As he explains in his book (which you should read–life altering, I tell ya!) you have to remove your focus from all possessions that you have in order to have true I-You relationships. People get lost in worrying about what other people have and what they themselves have. Buber would classify all of these as I-It relationships. So even though Cinderella has a sweet pumpkin AND singing birds AND Prince Charming, I should ignore all of that and focus on living a life being open to I-You encounters.

Another reason that Buber ties in with the delectable parfait recipe I’ll share is that all of the ingredients work with one another to create something better. You can’t have one without the other, and they taste better together. Although you probably realize by now that I’d gladly spoon some pumpkin puree straight into my mouth, I acknowledge that it tastes better with the slight sour playing off of the Greek yogurt, and the nuttiness of the peanut butter resonating with the sweet undertones of honey. I’ll leave you with a Buber quote about reciprocity (apply it to this dish and to your life), and the recipe I hope you’ve been salivating over.

“Relation is reciprocity. My You acts on me as I act on it…Inscrutably involved, we live in the currents of universal reciprocity.” (I and Thou)

Perfect Peanut Butter Pumpkin Parfait

Ingredients (for one serving)

1 Packet Quaker Instant Oats

1/4 Cup Pumpkin Puree (I used canned pumpkin)

1/4 Cup Greek Yogurt

1 Tablespoon Peanut Butter

2 Teaspoons Honey

1 Teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 Packet Sugar

Shaved Dark Chocolate (Optional, as a topping. But not really, because chocolate should never be optional in my opinion)

How to:

In a small bowl, mix pumpkin puree, pumpkin spice, and sugar. Set to the side. In a different small bowl, mix Greek yogurt, peanut butter and honey. In yet another small bowl, mix oats and cover them with water. Microwave the oats for 1 minute and 30 seconds. And this folks, is when the I-You magic starts happening. Get some sort of cylindrical container (preferably a glass jar because it looks beautiful when in there) and let’s start putting this together. Scoop about half of the baked oatmeal and put it in the bottom of the jar/cylinder. Pat it down so it’s pretty flat and wait maybe 2 or 3 minutes if you can handle that so that most of the oatmeal cools down. Next, put a layer of pumpkin mixture on top (again, scoop about half of it on). Pat that down too. Next, scoop most of your Greek yogurt mixture on top of that. Smooth down. Now, repeat. Oatmeal, pumpkin mixture, and then you should just dollop the last of the Greek yogurt on top. Or smooth it down, whichever looks more appetizing to you. At the end, shave some chocolate on top.

I put mine in the fridge and ate it the next morning for breakfast. Need I mention just HOW excited I was to wake up in the morning? I attempted to walk myself from the fridge to the kitchen table, but the whole parfait was gone before I got there. That’s how good it was. Eat this as a snack, as a dessert, as a breakfast, or even to compliment a breakfast-for-dinner meal. Dig in and enjoy!!

3 responses »

  1. These posts get better and better everyday…. I wish I lived with you so you could make me these delicious concoctions everyday while reading books aloud as I scarf them in my face. Oh wait…. that doesn’t happen. You’re too busy living a rock star life being a pro blogger.

    I should also let you know that I checked your blog before Katie’s and even Angela’s today.

  2. Pingback: Breakfast = Brain Power « Dig Into Books

Leave a Reply

