What is this blog all about?

Standard

Hello friends!

You may be asking yourself, what is this blog all about? If you are, you’re not alone. I’m asking myself the same thing. I’ve never written a blog before but I sure am excited to start!

There are a lot of blogs out there, so what makes this one different? Well, I’ve done my research and couldn’t find a blog like what I envision this to become (after many, many more words are typed, books read, kitchen fiascos and successes of course…). I want this blog to become a place where food and books can meet and interact with each other and with us! Now before you start thinking I sound crazy for saying this, just try to remember a time when you were reading and suddenly found yourself drooling over a paragraph in a book.

Need I mention Twain’s descriptions of Southern food that make me crave homemade biscuits and sweet tea…

“Corndodgers  and buttermilk, and pork and cabbage and greens- there ain’t nothing in the world so good when it’s cooked right” (The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Mark Twain).

Or something like the feast of seafood portrayed by Dumas…

“Arles sausages, brown of meat and piquant of flavor, lobsters and prawns in brilliant red shells, sea-urchins whose prickly exteriors resemble chestnuts just fallen from the trees, cockles esteemed by the epicure of the South as surpassing the oyster of the North, in fact every delicacy which the sea washes up on to the sandy beach, and which the fisherman call sea-fruit” (The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas).

You get the point.

Food descriptions can be my favorite scenes in books. I love savoring each word and conjuring the meals in my head (especially when I’m daydreaming in class and it’s lunchtime…). But I digress. The important thing I’m trying to communicate is that this blog is a place where the sugar-fairy-plum images that dance in our heads while we read food scenes in books will finally appear in front of us.

Yes, you heard me right. I’ll be blogging recipes, meals, and just any delicious food in general that either comes from a specific book or is inspired by a certain author, genre or book. Excited? I sure am!

Also, I’ll hopefully be posting some book reviews, random musings, and exceptional recipes I find. And maybe some other posts just related to life in general. Who knows! I hope you’ll join me and dig in to a good book and a delicious plate of food (maybe even at the same time). Oh, wouldn’t that be lovely.

One response »

  1. SO EXCITING!!! I must be honest – I’m a bit dissapointed that http://www.lifewithoutpants.com didn’t make the cut. But, I will get over that in time as I am pining away for you and your kitchen antics while I am many miles away missing you terribly. I can’t wait to read more! You are so fun and creative – I love you!! I hope the internet world is ready for un-recipe cooking! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

