All Shook Up

Standard

I can’t help falling in love with this french toast.

Naturally sweet bananas, creamy swirls of peanut butter, and a drizzle of honey. Sounds like someone has the same taste buds as I do. See, I didn’t come up with this flavor combination – I was inspired by Elvis’s favorite sandwich! He loved all of the ingredients above smashed together between two slices of white bread. That’s a sandwich that no one would return to sender.

Now, maybe you’re wondering why I suddenly seem to love Elvis. I mean, you all know that I’m obsessed with any combination of flavors that relates to peanut butter, but I’ve never professed any obsession with Elvis’s music or anything like that before. So why am I making french toast that seems to have everything to do with Elvis?

I met him. Okay, okay, maybe I only met an Elvis impersonator, but it still felt like a big deal. In the same night I met Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Michael Jackson, and the Blues Brothers (obviously they were all impersonators as well). I went to see a show called Legends in Concert with my mom and it was a really great show! I have some exciting news related to the show, too. The reason I went to see it was because I’m working for the Branson Chamber of Commerce this summer as a guest blogger. They are having a special feature on their social media pages in June called 30 shows in 30 days, so I am reviewing as many as I can for June. This week, I’m going to 5 shows in 5 days, so if I’m posting less on digintobooks it’s just because I’m spending a lot of time at shows and at my job at the bed and breakfast. I’ll post the link to the Branson blog in a few days on here so anyone interested can read my reviews of shows that I’m going to!

Whew, that was a lot of gabbing. Let’s get a little less conversation on this post and get to the real reason we’re all here: to dig into a hunk of burnin’ love some really, really good french toast.

Here’s my recipe for some Elvis-fied french toast. This’ll make enough for two to share or for one hungry, Elvis-lovesick girl who just got back from a tough run. It’s so good you’ll want to make it for lunch and dinner, too!

Heartbreak Hotel French Toast
Ingredients
4 slices whole wheat bread
1 egg white
1/8 cup almond milk
1/2 banana sliced very thin
2 tablespoons peanut butter (divided)
2 teaspoons honey
How To
1. If you want to make your french toast into a broken heart shape like mine, I suggest lightly toasting the bread first and then cutting the bread into your shape of choice. If you just want plain ole’ square toast, don’t worry about toasting it.
2. On a large plate, mix the egg white with the milk.
3. On a separate plate, assemble the stuffed french toast. Grab a piece of bread, smear 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter on it and then set it to the side. Do the same thing to one other piece of bread.
4. Place banana slices on top of the peanut-butter topped bread slices. Then, grab the unused slices of bread and place them on top of the topped slices (as if you’re making a sandwich.

5. After you make the little french toast ‘sandwiches’, go ahead and turn up your favorite Elvis tune and get ready to shake, rattle, and roll the next few minutes. It’s important to work quickly in the next few minutes so your toast turns out perfectly.
6. Spray a skillet with cooking spray and then set it on a burner at medium-high temperature. Then, quickly douse your sandwiches in the egg mixture until they are almost saturated, and are coated with the mixture. Gently place the sandwiches onto the skillet.
7. Let the french toast cook for a few minutes on each side, ensuring that the coating is well cooked. Once you’re happy with the looks of your toast, scoop the sandwiches off the burner and drizzle honey and the remaining peanut butter all over them (heat the peanut butter in the microwave/mix a little almond milk in if you want it to be more liquidy).
8. Sit yourself down and dig into your heartbreak hotel french toast. Make sure Elvis is crooning somewhere nearby.
9. (Optional: I put a few extra banana slices on the skillet when my toast was done and cooked them for about a minute on each side. I put a dollop of vanilla yogurt on my plate to add extra texture and flavor to the dish and then topped it with the bananas. Other fun toppings would be a handful of walnuts, or a little maple syrup. If you really want to be like Elvis, crumble a little bacon on top – it’s said that one of his favorite variations on his honey-pb-banana combo was to add a thick slab of his momma’s home cooked bacon).

4 responses »

  1. I don’t know what is better looking, you, the french toast, or Elvis!!!!!! Looks superb and I love how you cut it!! Another hound-dog of a recipe!!

    • Thanks number one fan!! Just wait until you see my commerce blog post- it’s full of punny song allusions!! I thought of you the whole way through. Can’t wait for my favorite guest blogger to make another stellar appearance!

  2. This sounds so yummy! The fact that I’m an Elvis fan doesn’t hurt either! Keep up the good work- and we hope to see you sometime this summer!

Leave a Reply

