Roasted Zuchinni Mock-sagna

Standard

There are some days I just crave lasagna. Ever have one of those days? It usually happens to me when the day is long and cold – like today! Despite the fact that it’s April, a day filled with chill-to-the-bone weather, grey skies, and a drizzle of rain popped up. I spent the day shuffling to class, rushing into the warm gym to work out, and then hustling home to get snuggled into sweat pants. All I wanted for dinner was a heaping slice of lasagna, piled high with veggies and filled with warm Italian flavors. Then I wanted to eat. And repeat.

However, I had no lasagna noodles on hand and not nearly enough ingredients to fill an entire casserole pan with veggies, so I resorted to my next best option: creating my own “mock-sagna” with an array of vegetables, spices, and tofu from my supply in an individual casserole dish. I’ve raved about this utensil before, this useful, one-dish-wonder individual casserole pan that creates perfectly portioned dinners. I’ve made a creamy pasta casserole and a coffee infused sweet potato casserole in it before and I love the way that it bakes the meal evenly throughout and doubles as a great bowl to eat out of.

Today was the perfect day to break out the casserole dish again, and I combined numerous roasted veggies to create a mock-sagna that satisfied my craving for a hearty lasagna while only using ingredients that I had on hand. I paired the vegetables with a “cheesy” roasted tofu that takes on the texture of ricotta and adds a saltiness to the dish. Best of all, this meal was quick to make and perfect for an oddball chilly day in the middle of spring. Hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

Roasted zucchini Mock-sagna
Ingredients
1 zucchini
1 tomato
1/2 package frozen spinach
1/5 block of firm tofu
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
Garlic powder
Salt
Pepper
Italian seasoning

How To
1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Slice zucchini longways, into very thin noodle-like pieces. Be careful doing this and try to make each piece even.
3. Slice tomato into thin slices.
4. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking oil and place the zucchini onto it. Sprinkle zucchini with garlic powder, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. Pop them in the oven until they brown slightly around the edges.
5. At this point, add the tomatoes to the pan and sprinkle with same spice blend as zucchini. Cook for 5-10 more minutes. When finished, place to the side to cool.
6. Remove spinach from the freezer and microwave as per package directions. Take half of the spinach and drain it. Put it into a skillet and mix in mashed tofu. Heat in skillet with nutritional yeast until tofu is slightly browned/firm.
7. Grab your casserole dish. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray casserole dish with cooking spray. Line the bottom of the dish with zucchini slices. Next, layer half of the spinach and tofu mixture. Cover with all of the tomato slices.
8. Layer another layer of zucchini and then top the dish with the remaining tofu and spinach mixture. Sprinkle extra nutritional yeast on top, if desired.
9. Bake the mock-sagna until the top is slightly crisp and the dish is clearly heated. Then, sit down and enjoy your own personal piece of comfort!

2 responses »

  1. Yum! I make something really similar and it’s amazing what zucchini can do :)

    I need to get me an individual sized casserole dish- I constantly have the same problem- not enough food to fill a whole dish yet intensely craving comfort food.

    • I just checked out your recipe and it looks SO good! I’ll have to try it on a day I have time to make an entire pan full of stuff. Yeah, you really should check them out – I love having an individual casserole pan to make smaller-portioned comfort foods!

Leave a Reply

