Snacker Day Saturday: 3/17

Standard

As you might be able to gather from the title of this post, I’m beginning a new weekly feature on digintobooks. If you’re anything like me, Saturdays are usually packed doing all the fun things you’ve waited to do all week (don’t worry, I’ll keep it a secret if you’ve been on Pinterest all week gathering up craft ideas to do on Saturdays, or if you’ve been emailing friends while at work with fun outing ideas to add to your weekend to-do list). On Saturdays I usually find myself on adventures with friends. Sometimes getting an hour or two to just put my feet up and relax isn’t an option – nor do I want it to be one. Because of this, I find myself craving great snack solutions to keep me going through long hours of shopping, taking nice walks outside, or dancing until my feet feel like they’re going to call off.

From now on, I’ll be offering you a snack idea to nourish both your mind and body. How is this possible? I’ll be feeding your tummy by sharing one of my recipes for food, and then offer you a little tidbit of literature to keep your intellectual side satisfied until you’re able to really sit down and read or write or go back to work. Hopefully this sounds like a nice Saturday treat to you, because I’m really excited about sharing these little opportunities for you to pause and rejuvenate during your Saturday – or any day of the week for that matter!

So go ahead, have a Snacker Day Saturday today on me! Here are the recipe and reading snacks that I want to share today:

This snack is one that is so secretly healthy I often make it for dessert. And by often I mean I make it almost every night for myself. I mean, who would turn down a banana turned into chocolate cake? Not me.

All you need for this delectable creation is a banana, baking powder, cocoa powder, and a little bit of water. With a little abra-cadabra and a wave of a wand, this pile of mush turns into a personal piece of chocolate cake that’s so moist and gooey you could almost call it chocolate lava cake. Yum.

Before you drool on your keyboard anymore, I’ll go ahead and give you the recipe. After all, it is Saturday! You’ve got to get to work making this and get to all the other projects you’ve got going on.

Healthy Chocolate Cake for One

Ingredients

1 banana

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon water

4 tablespoons cocoa powder

Sugar to taste (sugar is not necessary in this recipe at all because of the sweetness of the banana, but if you want to throw in a couple teaspoons, it can’t hurt)

How To

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. Peel the banana and break it into a few pieces. Put the banana pieces into a small bowl or and mash well with a fork. The smoother the banana is, the smoother your cake will be.

3. In a separate small bowl, mix the baking powder and water. Let the baking powder fizzle and rise. When it has slowed down as far as fizzling and popping go, mix it in with the mashed banana.

4. Mix the cocoa powder into the mashed banana mixture and stir well. The batter should be very similar to that of cake batter and should smell so deliciously chocolate that you want to lick it out of the bowl. Try to resist temptation.

5. Spray down a small ramekin or mini casserole pan with cooking spray. I use these neat little flower shaped ceramic baking tools I got at Pier 1. Pour the batter in.

6. Bake the personal serving of cake for about 15-20 minutes, or until the top looks very cake-like. The middle may be a teeny bit batter-y but if you’re into chocolate lava cakes or delicious hot batter this shouldn’t bother you.

7. Take the pan to a comfy chair, and get ready to read!

Today I’m posting a link to a website that you may not be familiar with. I interned with the literary magazine The Missouri Review last summer and thoroughly enjoyed it. The caliber of work published by that magazine is phenomenal, the staff insightful and experienced, and the overall magazine something that I’d look into subscribing to. They even have audio recordings of each piece and an online version for the more tech-savvy among us.

This summer I specifically worked on a project called textBOX. It’s an online anthology of some of the best pieces that The Missouri Review has ever published. Today I encourage you to sit down with your deceivingly healthy chocolate cake, and read through some of the pieces. They’re so good that you may just have to make yourself another piece of cake to go along with it.

7 responses »

  1. I’ve been waiting all week for this. This is EPICCC! I love that something so simple can turn into something so decadent, who would have thought the secret ingredient to a delicious chocolate cake was a banana!
    I’m always so impressed with your healthy creations!
    I’ll have to try this recipe today for sure! I can’t wait for more Saturdays so to come to see what other Snackerday snacks you have up your sleeve!!

    • Your beautiful, overflowing creation made headlines on the blog! My favorite part of these banana creations is sitting down in our common room and talking to you while we eat them! Miss you and enjoy whatever food concoctions come your way over break! :)

  2. Pingback: Snacker Day Saturday: 3/24 « Dig Into Books

  3. Pingback: Breakfast = Brain Power « Dig Into Books

  4. Pingback: Quinoa Cookies « Dig Into Books

  5. Pingback: Snacker Day Saturday: 5/26 « Dig Into Books

Leave a Reply

