Hot! Hot! Say, we got it! Hot chocolate!

Standard

Do you know that song?? It’s from Polar Express! My friends and I watched Polar Express the other night under the glow of our Christmas lights and I had a warm mug of hot chocolate in hand.

 

I’ve never really liked hot chocolate before this year. Sure, I drank the occasional cup of hot chocolate during each holiday season but I never really enjoyed it. I think it might be because I always used the powdered mix and only mixed it with hot water. I know, ew. But this year, my hot chocolate life has warmed up a lot – literally! Alright, I know,  I need to quit with the puns…

Anyway, I got the inspiration to make homemade hot chocolate when I had a 30 page paper to write and the night was just beginning. I turned on the TV and Elf was on! What could be better than writing a 30 page paper while watching Elf? Watching Elf with a giant mug of hot chocolate next to you. And a big smile on your face. Because like Buddy, smiling should be your favorite thing to do.

So, without further ado, I present to you my homemade hot chocolate recipe. It’s perfect for sipping on while doing homework or while walking through beautiful displays of Christmas luminaries or while snuggled up with friends watching an endless series of Christmas movies.

Hot! Hot! Hot Chocolate!

Ingredients

6 oz. Water (or whatever amount fills up half of your mug)

6 oz. Vanilla Flavored Unsweetened Almond Milk  (or you can fill your whole mug with milk, I’m just not a huge milk fan)

1 Tablespoon Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder (or normal cocoa powder if you don’t have dark chocolate on hand)

1/4 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1 Teaspoon Sugar (or more…)

***This recipe is great because there are substitutions galore that can be made. Sub the almond milk for soy milk, normal milk, or any kind of milk that suits your fancy. Sub the dark chocolate cocoa powder for any type of cocoa powder. Leave out the vanilla extract if you don’t have it. Add variations: melt in a mini candy cane for peppermint hot chocolate, top your drink with classic marshmallows, melt some peanut butter in a small bowl and mix it in for a hot chocolate peanut butter cup of perfection! The possibilities are endless! Let me know some of your great ideas for hot chocolate variations in comments below! I’d love to see some creative ideas.

How to

1. Grab your favorite mug and all of the ingredients listed above. Scoop the cocoa powder and the sugar into your mug. Pour the water and milk on top of the dry ingredients.

2. Pour the vanilla extract into the mug. Stir it up, and stir well because the cocoa powder needs to be mixed thoroughly.

3. After the hot chocolate is mixed well, put the mug in the microwave for 90 seconds. Check the temperature by carefully sipping a spoonful of it. Microwave for more time if necessary. Once it’s hot enough, stir in the candy cane if you want to add a minty flavor, or just enjoy the hot chocolate as is. This hot chocolate is so good…….

…that even reindeer love it!! Hope you enjoy it as much as Pip does!

9 responses »

  1. Wow, I love the recipe! It seems like all of your slaving away in the kitchen always seems to pay off! All of those recipe trials getting the right amount of each ingredient seems like such tough work but it’s so worth it for your readers!
    Maybe you could try putting grapes in it!

    Love your recipes! I can’t wait for more to come!
    I’m trying this tonight!

  2. Yum! I’m a peppermint girl myself. Any kind of mint, really. Something about mint cocoa just makes me want to curl up with a blanket and a good book.
    Great post! Now I want some cocoa… :)

Leave a Reply

