I’m on a casse(roll)

Standard

Get it? I’m so punny!

I’ll let this recipe speak for itself since I have projects to do and papers to write. Enjoy!

Creamy Pasta Casserole

Ingredients

1 Package Shirataki Noodles

1/3 Cup Pasta Sauce

1/4 Cup Mozarella Cheese (I used Daiya this time and it worked well)

How to

1. First, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Next, prepare the Shirataki noodles. Never made Shirataki noodles before? No problem. They are sold in bags of water so cut open the bag and pour the noodles into a strainer. I like to rinse the noodles off with a little bit of water and then let them sit and drain for 5 minutes. The noodles will be more slippery than pasta noodles so don’t be alarmed if the pile of noodles looks a little different than what you’re used to. They taste great and have a different consistency from pasta noodles!

2. Combine the noodles, pasta sauce and half of the cheese in the casserole dish. Mix everything around until the noodles look evenly coated with sauce and the cheese is spread throughout. Add more sauce if you prefer to.

3. Sprinkle the other half of the cheese on top of the noodles. Pop the casserole dish in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Then, find somewhere comfortable to sit and enjoy the creamy comfort that this casserole brings.

7 responses »

  1. Where do you find shirataki noodles, and what are they made from? I love this recipe and it sounds like something my family will LOVE, I’m just wondering if I could sub in gluten-free rice fettuccini perhaps…what do you think?

    • Hi glutenvygirl! I get my shirataki noodles at Harris Teeter or the co-op near where I live. They are usually located by the tofu section. They are gluten-free!! They’re made from Water, Tofu, and Yam Flour. I love how easy they are. I think that gluten-free rice fettuccini would be delicious and probably heartier than the Shirataki noodles (I usually eat them as a lunch dish). I actually used the Shirataki fettuccini-style noodles in the casserole pictured. Hope this was helpful and thanks for following my blog! :)

      • Oh, awesome! I’m in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere, Texas, but I do make it to the “big city” once a month! I will have to look there and see if I can find them. I have to go pretty far to find any “good” stuff, like organics etc.
        I’ve never heard of those noodles, I’m really excited to locate them and try them out! Thanks so much!!:)

  2. Pingback: Roasted Zuchinni Mock-sagna « Dig Into Books

Leave a Reply

